ICMPhotoMag Online Workshop

Beginnings

Mentors:  Kaisa Sirén, Morag Paterson, and Stephanie Johnson

Workshop Duration:  Saturday, 20 February to Sunday, 28 March 2021 (5 Weeks)

6 Live 2-Hour Sessions – See dates and proposed times below. 

Required:  Video and Audio Capability for Zoom Participation

Registration Deadline is 15 February 2021

Maximum # of Participants - 10  |  Minimum # of Participants to Hold the Workshop - 6     

Registration Price:  $425 USD or Equivalent in Other Currencies (i.e. €350, £310, etc.)

NOW FULL

If you are interested in being placed on a waiting list, or to express interest in future workshops,
please email us through the
Contact page to let us know.

Download the Workshop Flyer Here
ICMPhotoMag Beginnings Workshop Flyer

Live 2-Hour Session Meeting Dates
Required:  Video and Audio Capability for Zoom Participation

Week 1 (2 Live Meeting Sessions)

Session 1 – Saturday, 20 February

Session 2 – Saturday, 27 February

Week 2 (1 Live Meeting Session)

Session 3 – Sunday, 7 March

Week 3 (1 Live Meeting Session)

Session 4 – Sunday, 14 March

Week 4 (1 Live Meeting Session)

Session 5 – Sunday, 21 March

Week 5 (1 Live Meeting Session)

Session 6 – Sunday, 28 March

*** Please note ~ these dates may change slightly, so we do ask that you keep this in mind when registering and that you be as flexible as possible with your schedule in order to participate in the live sessions and to get the most benefit out of the workshop.  We do plan to record the Live sessions, though, so you will have the ability to watch on playback if you need to miss a session.

Proposed Live 2-Hour Session Meeting Times
Required:  Video and Audio Capability for Zoom Participation

The Live sessions will be held at the same time each week, based on the schedule above. 
Times are based on UTC, so please be sure you know what your time zone is in relation to UTC
and adjust accordingly if it is not listed below.

UTC +3 – 7 pm

UTC +2 – 6 pm

UTC +1 – 5 pm

UTC – 4 pm

UTC -5 – 11 am

UTC -6 – 10 am

UTC -7 – 9 am

UTC -8 – 8 am

*** Please note ~ these times may change slightly, depending on the location of registered participants, so we do ask that you keep this in mind when registering and that you be as flexible as possible with your schedule in order to participate in the live sessions and to get the most benefit out of the workshop.  We do plan to record the Live sessions, though, so you will have the ability to watch on playback if you need to miss a session.

Workshop Overview

During this interactive, immersive, and collective photography course, you will explore creative image making through connections and stories, on a journey of discovery and self-expression, in a friendly co-learning environment, along with Kaisa, Morag, and Stephanie (who, in addition to being mentors, will also participate in the project, as well). 

The workshop is mentoring-based (rather than teaching-based), as we help you discover your own path to creativity and storytelling through ICM photography.  The power of this course is in mutual interaction, collaborative sharing, and immersive discussions above and beyond just technical exercises.  This workshop is meant to be about more than just photography.  

You will develop a deeper understanding of your own photographic and artistic processes through immersion, reflection, and self-expression, as we explore ways to answer questions about how we may use ICM photography to tell more meaningful stories and bridge connections to both the inner landscape of the spirit, as well as to the outer landscape of the world in which we live. 

Using poetry, other writings, music, imagery, and concepts as prompts, these starting points will guide you on a journey of exploration, through the creation of new ICM work, as well as through journaling during the course of the workshop, to help you  build a meaningful personal project based around a chosen theme.

We will workshop each other's creative work each week, providing feedback, constructive criticism, encouragement, and support along the way.

 

Workshop Includes

  • 3 Leading ICM Photographers as Mentors throughout the Workshop
  • 6 Live 2-Hour Sessions via Zoom over the course of 5 weeks (sessions may be recorded with workshop participants’ permission for future viewing and use by the participants)
  • Membership in a private ICMPhotoMag Network forum community for workshop participants only – for sharing work, ideas, and concepts during the workshop; for interaction outside of the live meeting sessions for a more immersive, ongoing collaborative  experience; for encouragement, inspiration, support, feedback, and connection throughout the five-week course
  • A deeper dive into your ICM image making to enhance your creativity, to learn the value of storytelling, and to find deeper personal connections through your imagery
  • Personal attention and feedback in the creation of a personal theme-based project, as well as participation in a culminating collective online exhibition at the end of the workshop to be displayed on the ICM Photography Magazine website
  • Live discussions to collaborate with and learn from mentors, as well as with other workshop participants
  • Practical application tips, prompts, and additional material to help facilitate the creative process of building a personal body of work
  • Collective workshopping of images and ideas for individualized feedback, co-critiquing, and reviewing work during the period of the workshop
  • Encouragement to think conceptually about the aims of your image making in order to frame the deeper meaning of why you create the work you do

Upon Completion

You will have the tools and experience to:

  • Work with and develop projects, series, and bodies of work on your own.
  • Explore additional approaches to working with theme-based projects.
  • Apply the knowledge and experience you gained to create new personal photographic projects.
  • Demonstrate an explorative mindset around the concept of bridging connections between your imagery and other art forms.
  • Reflect on and critique your own images and project ideas.
  • Critically examine your final body of work, both as a result of the workshop, as well as in the future.
  • Reflect on how working with a focused theme, over a specified period of time, affects your creative process, understanding, and development.

Download the Workshop Flyer Here - ICMPhotoMag Beginnings Workshop Flyer